Veteran’s Day

I genuinely appreciate all the families that have taken time to send in a “thank you” page describing a veteran in your family.  We have a nice display in our main hallway for everyone to share.  I notice the students really paying attention and reviewing the different stories.  This Tuesday, Mrs. Roger’s fifth grade will explain a “white table” tradition to the other Ospreys in the cafe.  This tradition is appropriate for either Veteran’s Day or Memorial Day (http://bit.ly/1pFDuwH).

I think it is doubly important for us to recognize Veterans in this era when so many individuals are removed from the military and the sacrifices our military families make.  When I was just a little older than the Ospreys, our country was embroiled in the Vietnam War.  My brothers were in line for the draft “lottery” by which young men were chosen to fight in that faraway land.  I was terrified that my brother would be called upon.

Today our military is all volunteer, allowing most Americans to remain distant from the complexities of military service.  On this Veterans Day, we thank those who have chosen to serve.  In addition, we thank their families.  Military families sacrifice a great deal, and for this I am appreciative.

The course of my own family’s history was changed in 1918 when my great uncle Walton died in Bois de Harville, France, just ONE DAY before Armistice Day.  My grandfather had to drop out of high school to support his family when Walton was killed.  Charles Beauvais became a successful banker in spite of his limited education, but he always regretted not finishing school.  I know a part of my passion for education came from my grandfather’s insistence that all ten of his grandchildren have a quality education.

I hope everyone will take a few minutes this week to pause and reflect on our nation’s military men and women, and the service they provide for our nation and indeed, the world.

With hope for peace,

Julie BenayUS-Flag1